About Us


Sharing God’s Love was organized in 1984 when representatives from a few churches in the area got together and agreed that there needed to be a central location where community families facing emergencies related to their basic living needs could be served. Thus, they began to establish this ministry to provide food, clothing, and financial assistance to those in need.

The idea was well received, and all area churches were invited to participate. The program would allow churches to refer people to SGL, instead of their going from one church to the other for help. One requirement for the ministry would be that each client be interviewed to try to determine true need and records be kept to assure that SGL guidelines were met. The same guidelines continue to govern, but church and community participation has increased and the ministry thrives.

Due to these increases and need for space, several moves have been made. The following is a quote from a report on activities at the first location. “Excitement and enthusiasm abound at the small white house, as more and more of the needy have been referred here for help. Love and services are dispensed and gratitude received.”

The excitement and enthusiasm which prevailed at the beginning of this ministry continues to grow, and blessings abound for those who serve in various capacities, as well as those who are served. The faith and vision of the founders has been an inspiration to all who have followed in their footsteps.

In 2016, Sharing God’s Love served 6098 people (2139 families) of which 518 were new families needing our services.


Executive Director: Shari Selke
Client Services Coordinator : Elaine Schmitt
Financial Secretary: Ashley Samson
Receiving Area Managers: Joyce Faber
Inventory Manager : Jodi Warlick

Board of Directors

George How, Union United Methodist Church – President
Richie Eisenman, Union United Methodist Church – Vice President
Denise Kehl, Christus Victor Lutheran Church – Secretary
Pauline Harley St. Peter Baptist Church – Treasurer

Leeta Parrott, Riverland Hills Baptist Church
Joyce Faber, St. Andrews Presbyterian Church
Jim Blizzard, First Baptist Church of Irmo
Robert Brabham, Jr., McGregor Presbyterian Church
Rev. Tim Phillips, Riverland Hills Baptist Church
Cheryl Carroll, St. Mary’s Episcopal Church
Rev. Paul Sizemore, Mt. Olive Lutheran Church
Judy Gallager, St. Simon/St. Jude Episcopal Church
Steve Smith, Salem United Methodist Church
Judy Davis, Gateway Baptist Church
Chris Stockholm, Our Lady of the Hills Catholic
Richard Burke,Christus Victor Lutheran Church
Bill Haselden, Riverland Hills Baptist Church

Director(s) Emeritus: Frances McDonald, Union United Methodist Church
Marcia Adkins, Union United Methodist Church